Magnolia-400x300.jpg

Magnolia Lodge Reviews

Don’t just take our word for it, here’s what our guests have written in the visitors’ book:

“Just as Special”

Our second visit to this beautiful lodge and just as special as our first! Very relaxing break. Lots of lovely places to visit.

The Snapes, Cheltenham – April 2018

“A Home from Home”

Thank you for your hospitality and providing a ‘home from home’ perfect for us to visit and entertain family.

The Pomeroys, Reading – April 2018

Excellent Accommodation”

Magnolia Lodge has excellent accommodation, everything you need, very comfortable and clean.  Ideal situation for many Devon attractions.  We will certainly come back again.

The Symonds Family, Woodstock – April 2018

“So Comfortable”

Thank you for making us so welcome.  We were so comfortable here that we found it difficult to leave to visit the surrounding area! You have thought of everything and we are sad to leave.

The Hollilands, Leicestershire – April 2018

“Absolutely Beautiful Place”

What an absolutely beautiful place!  I’ve been more relaxed over the last few days than I have ever over the last few years!! Beautiful home, fantastic grounds and such lovely people! I am already looking forward to a return for some down time without the kids.

The Carrs, Manchester – March 2018

“Our Third Time!

This was our third time and we’re looking forward to next time.  The lodge feels like a home from home, with all the things you might need during your stay.  We really enjoyed our visits to Stover Country Park hand feeding the birds.

The King Family, Nottingham – March 2018

“A Real Haven”

Magnolia Lodge was a real haven for us while visiting family in the area.  Devon has a very special place in our hearts and it was an absolute pleasure to stay in this beautifully appointed lodge.

Jane & Mark, Mittagong Australia – February 2018

“Lovely, Spacious, Holiday Cottage.”

Such a lovely, spacious holiday cottage with everything you could possibly need for a relaxing stay.  A fantastic welcome with a generous cream tea, log fire, Sky Q and well equipped kitchen.  We could not be more impressed!

The Finlayson Family – February 2018

“What a Fabulous Christmas”

What a fabulous Christmas we have enjoyed.  Perfect accommodation and so much space for our four legged companions to enjoy.

Pat , Adrian, Teddy & Busto – December 2017

“A Wonderful Few Days”

We have had a wonderful few days – there is not way in which this accommodation could be improved! It is not easy to find a place which caters for disability so well.  The enclosed garden has been the icing on the cake for all of us but particularly Widget and Mouse!!

Hilary, Alison and Norman – November 2017

“So Glad We Found This Place”

So glad we found this place.  Fantastic accommodation in a lovely setting.  We wanted for nothing – perfect!

The Kehaya Family, Kent – October 2017

“Perfect in Every Way”

Perfect in every way.  Beautiful setting, spacious and top notch accommodation and more than enough outside space for the 2 high energy Border Collies.

Kathy & Garry, Weston-Super-Mare  – October 2017

“Our 5th Time”

This is our 5th time in this amazing lodge and we have finally lit the log burner!  This is such a relaxing place thanks to Rose and Adrian.  We love coming here as it feels so homely.  It’s a great base for visiting most places in Devon.

Anne & Michael, Bolton – September 2017

“We Really Love it Here”

Another wonderful stay at Magnolia Lodge – we really love it here. Everything was perfect.

Marie, Margaret, Ben & Pip, Yorkshire – July 2017

“A Great Find”

A great find for our mission to walk the coast path and so well equipped and comfortable.

Tessa & Heather, Dorset – May 2017

“As Good As Ever”

Our 3rd stay and as good as ever

Trevor & Mary, Hampshire – April 2017

“A Little Gem”

Such a little Gem!  We had a wonderful stay in this lodge.  We found everything we needed and were so happy about his little place.

The Bormann Family, Germany – April 2017

“Quality Décor”

A beautiful lodge with quality décor which was very appreciated.  Lovely friendly welcome.  Exceptional.

The Samples, Northampton – April 2017

“A Lovely Relaxing Weekend”

What a little gem! A lovely weekend relaxing at Magnolia Lodge, the highlight being the log burner.  A much need break in a fabulous quiet location.  So comfortable. 5 Stars *****

Kay, Joe, Steve & Clare, Hertfordshire – March 2017

“Full of Magical Memories”

Well a fantastic weekend, full of magical memories.  I spent the first night here as Miss R and woke up Sunday as Mrs D.  We had our wedding as Stover School and so Magnolia Lodge was perfect.  It’s a lovely lodge in a lovely setting. So friendly and accommodating and we had a welcome drink to celebrate.  Thank you again for making our weekend one to remember.

Mr & Mrs Davies – November 2016

“Perfectly Located”

Magnolia Lodge…..what a fantastic find!!  Perfectly located for many attractions and sights! The lodge is a real ‘home from home’ – everything so well thought out.  The shed is an excellent addition – the kids loved delving into it!

The Wildin Family, Gloucestershire – October 2016

“Returning Home Relaxed and Refreshed”

Thank you for such a lovely stay!  We came for a short break with our 8 month old son and are returning home relaxed and refreshed.  The lodge has been the perfect home from home and its location is fantastic.

Michelle, Neil & Isaac, Dorset – September 2016

“Wonderful Touches”

Thank you both for such a wonderful stay at Magnolia Lodge this weekend. The property far exceeded our expectations. Every need catered for and the most comfortable beds and furnishings. It was lovely to enter a property after a long journey and find scones, jam and cream waiting for us and also a fire made up ready to light. It is wonderful touches like these which will surely see us return sometime in the future. Thank you also for your welcome hospitality and help. We hope to see you soon.

Helen & Dorothy – Sutton Mandeville, Wiltshire. February 2016

 

“Memorable Experience”

A memorable experience for all the right reasons.  Lovely lodge.  Lovely Owners. Lovely time. We all felt settled straight away.

The Curtis Family, Surrey – June 2015

 

“Wonderful Lodge”

We had such a lovely time here.  A wonderful lodge, so close to all the sights.  This is our first time in Devon and we loved it.  We also enjoyed sitting in the garden after a busy day of sightseeing with a glass of wine!!

Sandy & Paul – Toronto, Canada

Valerie & Brian, Sussex – June 2015

“Cannot fault it!”

Thank you for providing a lovely contemporary holiday lodge.  I cannot fault it!  Many places of interest within 1/2 an hour drive; Buckfast Abbey, Castle Drogo, and the best trip was the “Round Robin” ( a boat from Totnes to Dartmouth, then steam train to Paignton and finally an open top bus back to Totnes) a lovely day.  Thank you so much.

Lorraine, Berks – June 2015

“We loved this place”

Magnolia lodge has been the perfect home from home both in terms of comfort and location.  A 30 minute drive can get you to Plymouth, Torquay, Dawlish, Exmouth and Exeter which all offer something for everyone!  We loved this place so much we have already booked for next year!!

The Devlin Family – June 2015

“Perfect Stay”

2nd visit in 12 months!  Again a perfect stay.  We ticked off some more National Trust sites from our list.  It’s very special.  Nothing has changed in the house – everything is as perfect as the last time.

Emma, Leighton & Harriet. Caerphilly – April 2015

“Luxury 5 star accommodation”

Fantastic lodge. Luxury 5 star accommodation. Perfect for sight seeing some wonderful locations.  We had a fabulous time, even the weather couldn’t have been better!

Andrew, Julie & Adele – April 2015

“Perfect Easter Break”

What a perfect Easter break we’ve had!  Magnolia lodge was more than we would have ever hoped for.  We’d recommend the Miniature Pony Centre (our kids 3 & 5 loved it) We’re going back home with nothing but good memories and will definitely come back again.

Veere, David, Ulrika & Sofia. Finland – April 2015

“Perfect Accommodation”

Perfect accommodation and a great location for visiting Dartmoor and the coast.  Also enjoyed walks in Stover Country Park – right on the doorstep.

The Simpkins, Oxfordshire.  March 2015

“The Kids loved it!”

Such a surprise when we arrived here.  A lovely place for a relaxing break.  The kids loved it and so did we.  Would definitely recommend and will definitely be coming back.

James, Kelly, Fred & Billy – February 2015

“A top spec property.”

A top spec property in a perfect location for doggy hike on Dartmoor!  A wonderful few days and an exhausted pooch – marvellous! 

Ruth & Helen. Surrey – February 2015

“All the little touches were what sets it above the rest.”

The lodge was super – all the little touches were what sets it above the rest as a place to stay.  We leave with warm memories and would happily recommend Magnolia Lodge to anyone.

Sue, Roger & Janet. Denmark – Christmas 2014

“Fabulously Relaxing Week”

We have had a fabulously relaxing week in your wonderfully appointed lodge.  There is nothing more required for a stay here.  Certainly like to stay again. 5 Stars!

The Crawfords – October 2014

“Wow!”

Wow! What a superb find.  So welcoming and the entire place is so well appointed.  It’s so lovely to stay somewhere which feels just like home and not for one second did we want for anything.

Leighton, Emma & Harriet. Caerphilly – October 2014

“Perfect Central Location”

Thank you so much for a marvellous stay, albeit far too short.  The accommodation is first class one of the best we have experienced in the area over the years.  Perfect central location to explore glorious Devon.

Angus & Carole. Scotland – September 2014

“Amazing, Restful Holiday”

This is our second stay in this wonderful lodge,  We have had an amazing, restful holiday.  Thanks for making our stay the best yet.

Michael & Anne – September 2014

“Would Definitely Recommend”

The Durlings. Colchester – September 2014

“Loved the Place”

Brilliant stay, had a great week.  Loved the place, very well kept and would love to come here again.  Lovely location, very peaceful and easy access to surrounding attractions.  Everything needed was supplied, couldn’t have wished for somewhere better.

Alan, Sam & Courtney. Oxford – August 2014

“Immaculate”

This was our second stay at Magnolia Lodge and everything was still in immaculate condition to make for an excellent holiday.

Ken, Freda, Alice, Grace. Bolton, Lancs – August 2014

“Thought of Everything”

Brilliant holiday home, you have thought of everything!  The lodge is a home from home and the setting is perfect. By far the best accommodation we have stayed in over the years.

Ellie, Julian, Max and Beth – August 2014

“Excellent Location”

Had a lovely stay in your beautiful lodge.  This is an excellent location for accessing South Devon.  We really enjoyed climbing at Exeter Quays, body boarding at Bantham beach, rock pooling at Amyr Cover, Crabbing at Teignmouth and doing the aerial adventure at Dartmoor Park.  We really appreciated all the equipment in the shed.  We want to come back soon.

Jones Family, Wickham – August 2014

” Slept Well”

For us, the test of any holiday cottage is how well we sleep and here at the lodge, we can certainly say that we have slept well!  Many thanks for the leaflets of the area they were great at helping us explore.”

Karen & Pete, South Wales – July 2014

“1st Class Accommodation”

1st Class accommodation, !st Class Hosts.  Thank you for allowing us to say in this superb lodge.  We have enjoyed every moment of our time here.

James, Christine, Jackie & Lily – July 2014

“Couldn’t believe the space and hi-spec”

A truly fantastic lodge for our family of 5.  We couldn’t believe the space and hi-spec feature. Our first trip to Devon as a family and had some lovely trips out.  We will definitely recommend to others and stay again.

The Hughes Family, Sheepy Magna, Warwickshire – May 2014

“Lovely Area”

We have all enjoyed our week at Magnolia Lodge, we have been very comfortable here.  Many thanks for providing everything we needed!  It’s a lovely area with lots of places to visit.  We loved Bigbury Bay and Broadsands.

Clive, Kay, Dorothy and Ted Brookman – May 2014

“Couldn’t have hoped for a better place to stay”

We couldn’t have hope for a better place to stay and to have my daughters 40th Birthday Surprise.  We had everything we could need, and more.  This is the most comfortable and well equipped holiday home we have stayed in.  Hope to come back again soon.

Adrienne & Jim – May 2014

“All the Mod Cons”

We had a fabulous time at your lodge in South Devon.  We appreciate your warm welcome, providing all the mod cons and lovely touch of Easter Eggs for the children.  Excellent accommodation, home from home. 

The Rolfes – April 2014

“Excellent Accommodation”

What a find!  Excellent accommodation and location – everything you could need including a lovely welcome.  Thank you so much – I expect you will see us again!

Mary & Trevor, Hook, Hampshire – March 2014

“Fabulous Stay”

Second visit and as usual a fabulous stay. Already organising our next visit 

Helen, Francesca, Katy, Leanne, Rachel & Debbie – March 2014

“A wonderful find.”

A wonderful home from home, while we are house hunting.  Perfect position to access all major roads.  A lovely lodge, so clean and everything you need.  A wonderful find and we will certainly recommend to friends and family.”

Maria and Philip – Stratford upon Avon. February 2014

“Our second stay!”

Our second stay and as usual everything was excellent!

Jan – North Devon. February 2014

“By far the best”

We had a really enjoyable stay.  By far the best equipped and most comfortable self catering we have stayed in (and we’ve been at it for 40 years!)

Elizabeth and John – Cheltenham.  January 2014

“Fantastic”

Thank you so much your lodge is amazing.  Woke up on Xmas morning put the wood burner on!  fantastic.  Everything you could wish for.  Will be returning again!

Kelly, Bradley, Jake & Cydney – Hornchurch, Essex.  December 2013

“Wished we could have stayed longer.”

Came down to do some work in the area, wished we could have stayed longer!  Accommodation fantastic, Rose and family very helpful and friendly.  Definitely be returning.

James & Rich – Derby.  December 2013

“A fantastic place.”

“What a fantastic place!  We looked for a long time for a place to holiday with disabled access and things like an ensuite and open plan layout for our needs, and what a find!  Everything we needed, but the bonus of everything we could want on top!  Great attention to detail – well kitted kitchen and living area.  Clean, plush and well decorated – a truly luxury place in a lovely area.

Maggie, Sheila, Liz and Jen – Roath, Cardiff.  November 2013

“Home from home.”

A real home from home.  Everything we needed was here.  Good place to explore from. Lovely accommodation and Rose made us feel so welcome.  

Joan & Tony – Colchester.  October 2013

“We didn’t want to leave”

What a fantastic lodge, so well laid out, everything you need.  Had a great week, we didn’t want to leave.

Chris – Fulstow, Louth.  September 2013

“We shall return!”

Can only echo many of the previous comments, a beautiful lodge – we looked forward to returning to it every evening.  We shall return!

Jackie & Martin – Herne Bay, Kent.  September 2013

“An absolute gem”

This property is amazing in every way. It is ideally situated for discovering the many tourist attractions of Devon. The property was spotless and was finished to an extremely high standard. It is also very well equipped providing all the mod cons and more beside. There is no need to take any extras with you as it is all provided i.e. washing up liquid, toilet rolls etc. The owner was more than helpful in suggesting places to go and has also created folders with leaflets of things to do and see. There is also a folder for eating out. We would definitely recommend this property to family and friends. A trip to the Eden project is well worth the hour and a half drive.  Also the round robin from Totnes gives you a boat trip, a ride on the steam train and an open top bus back which was a great day out.  All in all we had a wonderful time and have booked again for next year to continue exploring the many wonderful sites of Devon from the perfect property and location.

Anne & Michael – Bradford.    September 2013

“Fantastic Holiday Lodge”

We chose this lodge after looking at many others in the hope it would be a home from home – it was just that! The lodge is situated in beautiful surrounds offering private and quiet accommodation. The lodge itself is excellent, modern, clean and with all the mod-cons that you would need regardless of whether you choose to eat out or in. We were met by Rose upon our arrival with a cream tea 🙂 which was welcome and most unexpected. All the small things are provided which is a wonderful touch. There is plenty of information at the lodge for days out, a good bookcase and games for children. The location of the lodge is perfect as a base for exploring with easy access to Devon and North Cornwall.

Lynsey – Leyland, Lancashire.   August 2013

“Excellent Accommodation”

Excellent accommodation. Well fitted out with excellent decor and furnishings. Warmly greeted by Rose who even laid on a Devon Cream Tea for our arrival. Kitchen equipment etc was spot on with everything provided. This is a great base for touring S Devon. Easy access to attractions along the A38 to Exeter/ Plymouth, similarly good access to Torbay and the local shops in Newton Abbot.

Ken – Bolton, Lancashire.   August 2013

“Fabulous place to stay”

Just returned from a fabulous stay at Magnolia Lodge at Stover near Newton Abbot. The accommodation was absolutely superb, quiet, modern, clean, rural, close to road networks for ease of access to tourist areas. Great place for a ‘staycation’. The property is clean and well maintained and well managed by Rose who is extremely helpful and kind. Plenty of info at the Lodge to help you decide where to go for your days out. I would have no hesitation to recommend this property for a perfect stay in this area of South Devon. It’s also a really good location for folks who are less mobile although you do need car to get out and about. Book it and enjoy!!

Sue –  Petersfield, Hampshire.  August 2013

“Amazing Accommodation”

Magnolia Lodge is a true five star home from home – the accommodation and the standard of equipment and linen are first class and make it such an easy place to relax. We have stayed many times – in the Winter the wood burner makes it a cosy retreat, in the summer, the BBQ and outside games – my kids love the badminton, make it a fun escape and the overall location make so much of Devon easily accessible – from many different beaches to the moors! The other thing that sets this accommodation apart are its owners – two of the most friendly and likeable hosts we have ever met.

Mark & Amy – Westbury.    May 2013

“Mini Break”

We stayed three nights at the lodge and we really enjoyed the whole experience. It is very well located and equipped to a high standard. Rose was extremely attentive but without being intrusive and we would certainly use the lodge again, when we return to this area.

Andy – Worcester.  May 2013

“Wow!”

Everything was beautifully clean, attention to detail superb, owners very friendly and helpful, lodge situated in a peaceful setting but close to local towns and amenities.

Cathy – Ashford, Kent.   May 2013

“Excellent Service”

Description was accurate and was clean and well maintained and set in a lovely place. Met by Owner on arrival who gave lots of helpful information with an excellent service throughout our stay we fully recommend this property especially if you are less able, plenty of sand sea and entertainment within easy reach. All in all a lovely holiday.

Charles & Yvonne – Carmarthenshire.  April 2013

“What a find!”

“Wow What a find.  Superbly appointed and a wonderful location.  Go fossil hunting on the Jurassic Coast, fantastic fun.”

Peter & Elena – Surrey.    March 2013

“Faultless”

“Faultless accommodation for our family break and birthday celebration. Enjoyed Cafe Ode at Shaldon and The Beer Engine, Newton St Cyres.” 

Tony & Anne – Isle of Wight.      February 2013

“Brilliant Girlie Weekend”

“Brilliant Girlie Weekend away.  Wonderful suggestions on places to eat, sightseeing and activities.  Magnolia Lodge is beautifully presented with everything you could need.  Would recommend to anyone!”

Chesca, Leanne, Katy & Helen – North Devon.     February 2013

“Beautifully Decorated”

“The owner was most helpful recommending and arranging an “in-house” chef who demonstrated and cooked a wonderful dinner.  The lodge is beautifully decorated and extremely well equipped  – modern yet characterful.  It is central to many wonderful locations including the English Riviera, Dartmoor and stunning walks through Stover Country Park. A great girlie weekend was had by all.” 

Jan, Kate, Nicky, Judith & Annie – North Devon.      January 2013

“5 Star Accommodation”

“Thank you for presenting such a high quality 5 star accommodation.  Spacious and cosy, well placed base for exploring this beautiful area.  Exeter Quays a particular delight.  We have had a great time here.”

Richard, Lorraine & Kate – Cumbria.     December 2012

“There is so much to do.”

“We have enjoyed our short stay at Magnolia Lodge, what a comfortable base for a holiday.  The lodge is beautifully decorated and very well equipped.  We will be back for a longer stay, there is so much to do here.”

Steven & Angela – Dover.   October 2012

“Sooo comfortable”

“Wow.  Well done Rose & Adrian.  It’s obvious a lot of thought and planning has been given to this sooo comfortable lodge.  Beautiful outlooks, great for visiting the local places of interest and ease of access – couldn’t be better.”

Mike & Barbara – Stockport.   October 2012

“Beautiful Surroundings”

“Thank you for looking after us so well.  A lovely lodge in beautiful surroundings.  Lots to do and see.  A trip on the River Dart is essential.”

Beryl & David – Waterlooville.  September 2012

“Comfortable, spacious and homely”

“Congratulations Rose & Adrian for a superb lodge with everything you could wish for and a little more besides.  Comfortable, spacious and most importantly homely.  Definitely has the wow factor and the little touches were very much apprecciated. Paignton Zoo is worth a visit.  Would recommend the stream train from Paignton to Dartmouth and the cruise around the River Dart.”

The Evans family – Bolton.  September 2012

“A great stay”

“All had a great stay.  I’m sure we will be back.”

The Gornal Family – Manchester.  August 2012

“Amazing lodge.”

An amazing lodge and rural setting!! We have all had a fabulous time.  The lodge is extremely comfortable with all the mod-cons anybody could wish for.  The Eden Project is worth a visit.”

The Holloway Family – Waterlooville.  August 2012

Availability

Calendar is loading...
- Available
 
- Booked
 
- Pending

Enquiries










What’s On